will i ever grow up.

a post about being bias

Posted in Personal stuff, Photography, thoughts by ladybug on September 16, 2011

Today I went to the zoo.

I’m always confused when it comes to zoos. A feeling of culpability takes over me.  I know we probably all have the same questions whirling around in our stupid heads. I hate caged animals. But I love animals. Where else would I see them if not in a cage inside a zoo. Some will tell you that zoos keep certain species from disappearing. Others would tell you they are happier because they always get food on time and they are taken care of. No need to struggle. But what about pollution? What about equality? What about freedom?

I was looking at the sea lions, and one of them was looking back at me. Fixing me. And then I thought maybe she thinks I’m in a cage. How the hell would she know she’s in a cage if she’s never been out of it? So I kinda used a reverse psychology to make me feel better. And I did feel better for a while. Until I saw Simon.

Simon is probably the closest I have ever been to a chimp. Although a glass wall separated us, he was sleeping with his head stuck to the glass and I tried to put my hand on the wall, seeing if he would do the same. But he looked at me with sad half closed eyes and all I could think of at that time was if the glass would break if I punched real hard into it to save my fellow friend or if I did so would he run away to the inside corner of the cage instead of fleeing.

I stayed there for about half an hour. Although the zoo did quite an effort in doing a cage that is relatively quite big, it’s still so hard to see my brother confined inside a cage, dreaming of the lands of Africa. I left just when I felt the tears starting to form in my eyes.

Will I ever grow up?

Leave a Reply

